Hurling Match Report – Galway hurlers hammer Westmeath

Dominant Show: Galway’s Triumph Over Westmeath

In a commanding efficiency, Galway secured a convincing victory over Westmeath at Pearse Stadium in Salthill. Led by Henry Shefflin, Galway capitalized on the benefit of a powerful wind within the first half.

Early Battle: Westmeath’s Resilience

Regardless of the windy situations, Westmeath put up a spirited struggle all through the opening half, with goalkeeper Noel Conaty making spectacular saves. Niall Mitchell’s effectiveness as a sweeper and Darragh Egerton’s energetic play in protection saved Westmeath in competition.

Galway’s Ascendancy: Medical Scoring

As the sport progressed, Galway settled into their rhythm, showcasing their scoring prowess with seven totally different gamers contributing factors inside the first 13 minutes. Evan Niland’s accuracy from positioned balls added to Galway’s dominance, whereas Conaty’s goalkeeping heroics saved Westmeath inside attain.

Second-Half Surge: Galway’s Authority

Within the second half, Galway additional asserted their dominance, with Jason Flynn and Cianan Fahy discovering the web to increase their lead. Substitute Conor Whelan’s aim sealed the victory for Galway, highlighting their depth and attacking aptitude.

Conclusion: Galway’s Commanding Victory

Regardless of Westmeath’s resilience, Galway’s scientific scoring and defensive solidity proved an excessive amount of to deal with, leading to a complete win.

Scorers for Galway: E Niland 0-11 (6fs, 1’65), J Flynn 2-2, G Lee 0-5, T Monaghan 0-4, C Fahy 1-1, C Whelan 1-0, D MacLoughlin, D O’Shea 0-2 every, J Cooney, D Morrisey, J Ryan, R Glennon 0-1 every.

Scorers for Westmeath: D Williams 0-7 (6f), D O’Reilly 0-2, M Cunningham, D Clinton, N Mitchell 0-1 every.

Galway: Darach Fahy; Jack Grealish, TJ Brennan, Eoin Lawless; Cianan Fahy, Daithí Burke, Padraic Mannion; Donal O’Shea, Seán Linnane; Gavin Lee, Tom Monaghan, John Cooney; Evan Niland, Jason Flynn, Declan MacLoughlin.

Subs: Jamie Ryan for MacLoughlin (HT), Ronan Glennon for Linnane (49), Darren Morrisey for Burke (50), Conor Whelan for Cooney (54), Ian McGlynn for Niland (inj., 59), Dan Loftus for Lawless (64).

Westmeath: Noel Conaty; Connor Gaffney, Johnny Bermingham, Darragh Egerton; Jack Gillen, Kevin Regan, Cormac Boyle; Shane McGovern, Michael Daly; Owen McCabe, Darragh Clinton, Niall Mitchell; David Williams, Eoin Keyes, Peter Clarke.

Subs: David O’Reilly for Keyes (46), Mark Cunningham for Daly (53), Joey Boyle for Bermingham (inj., 60), Ciaran Doyle for Clarke (66), Oisín Loughlin for McGovern (66).

LiveScores Now Available at

Related Articles


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Latest Articles