Nitish Kumar Sails Via Bihar Flooring Take a look at After Opposition Walks Out

Bihar Belief Vote: Nitish Kumar and his alliance with the BJP has gained the belief vote (File).


Bihar Chief Minister Nitish Kumar and the ‘born-again’ Janata Dal (United)-BJP authorities sailed by way of a belief vote Monday afternoon, after the opposition – the Rashtriya Janata Dal of ex-Deputy Chief Minister Tejashwi Yadav, the Congress and the Left Entrance – walked out of the Meeting.

The final score was 130-0 in favour of the JDU-BJP alliance, which additionally managed to flip three vote from Mr Yadav’s RJD. The bulk mark within the 243-member Meeting was set at 122.

Earlier at this time there was excessive drama after Nitish Kumar formally sought the Meeting’s assist.

A livid Tejashwi Yadav unleashed a barrage of sarcastic taunts and swipes at his former ally, reminding his new associate – Prime Minister Narendra Modi and the BJP – of the ‘paltu Kumar’ label.

“Can PM Modi ‘assure’ he will not flip once more?” Mr Yadav requested to cheers of approval from social gathering members. Mr Yadav additionally demanded Nitish Kumar clarify his actions to the folks of Bihar.

“While you got here out of Raj Bhavan after resigning, you mentioned ”mann nhi lag raha tha’… hum log nachne gaane ke liye thode hai (you mentioned you were not ‘having fun with it’… are we there to entertain you)? We have been there to assist you,” he raged.

“… however he took oath thrice in a single time period. That is one thing we by no means noticed earlier than.”

Mr Yadav additionally hit out on the resolution to award former Bihar Chief Minister Karpoori Thakur – mentor to Nitish Kumar and RJD patriarch Lalu Prasad Yadav – suggesting the honour was a part of a “deal”.

READ | Ex-Bihar Chief Minister Karpoori Thakur Gets Posthumous Bharat Ratna

“I’m pleased Karpoori Thakur bought Bharat Ratna. They (the BJP) made a deal… ‘include us and we offers you (the JDU) a Bharat Ratna’…” Tejashwi Yadav declared.

READ | Bharat Ratna To Karpoori Thakur As Impetus For Nitish Kumar’s U-Turn?

Mr Thakur was an iconic socialist chief who was Chief Minister twice within the Seventies, and is credited with implementing the state’s contentious alcohol prohibition coverage. Nonetheless remembered at this time as ‘jan nayak‘, or ‘chief of the folks’, Karpoori Thakur’s legacy stays a helpful asset for political events at this time.

After Mr Yadav’s speech his RJD, the Congress, and the Left Entrance – all former allies of Nitish Kumar’s erstwhile authorities – walked out of the Meeting.

Earlier Awadh Bihari Choudhary was eliminated as Speaker; he failed a no-confidence movement of his personal, with 125 members voting to sack him. Mr Choudhary is from the RJD, which was dumped final month by Nitish Kumar, lower than two years after he lower ties with the BJP.

Nitish Kumar took oath as Chief Minister for a ninth time last month, saying the mahagathbandhan – the alliance the RJD – was “not proper”. Sources, nevertheless, mentioned he was extra upset in regards to the lack of the INDIA bloc’s ballot prep. He was reportedly additionally upset over being snubbed as a doable PM face.

Consequently, Nitish Kumar ditched the mahagathbandan and INDIA and fashioned a brand new authorities with the BJP. Typically mocked as “paltu Kumar”, for his many flip-flops, the Bihar Chief Minister met PM Modi in Delhi final week, after which he mentioned he would “by no means” once more go away the party-led NDA.

READ | Nitish Kumar Meets PM Modi, Says Will Never Leave NDA Again

Nitish Kumar’s quitting of INDIA has left the bloc – fashioned final 12 months to unite the opposition and defeat the BJP – on the verge of breaking apart, after Bengal Chief Minister Mamata Banerjee and the Aam Aadmi Social gathering each mentioned they intend to go their very own manner, for now.

NDTV is now accessible on WhatsApp channels. Click on the link to get all the most recent updates from NDTV in your chat.

Related Articles


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Latest Articles