‘Congress govt in Karnataka might collapse,’ predicts JD(S)’s H D Kumaraswamy

Former Chief Minister and JD(S) chief H D Kumaraswamy claimed on Sunday that an ‘influential minister’ from the ruling Congress in Karnataka would possibly be part of the BJP to evade circumstances filed towards him by the Centre. 

In keeping with Kumaraswamy, this minister, going through authorized challenges, is in talks with the BJP management and will probably deliver alongside ’50 to 60 MLAs’ if he decides to change events.

“All shouldn’t be nicely within the Congress authorities. I do not know when this authorities will go. An influential minister is determined to flee from the circumstances towards him,” the JD(S) chief stated.

Whereas Kumaraswamy didn’t disclose the minister’s identify, he emphasised that such a big transfer may solely be made by an ‘influential’ determine. He additionally advised that the political panorama in Karnataka would possibly witness developments just like these seen in Maharashtra.

“Wanting on the prevailing political environment, something can occur,” he stated. 


Whereas Kumaraswamy did not take names, however the ongoing energy wrestle between Karnataka Chief Minister Siddaramaiah and his deputy D.Ok. Shivakumar has resurfaced, reigniting tensions over power-sharing throughout the Congress authorities. The battle, initially evident through the formation of the federal government in Could, has now come to the forefront as soon as once more, highlighting inner rifts throughout the get together within the state.

The Legislative Meeting elections in Karnataka, witnessed historic voter turnout, reaching 73.19 per cent, the very best ever recorded within the state’s electoral historical past. The counting of votes befell, and the outcomes have been formally declared on Could 13.

The Indian Nationwide Congress secured a landslide victory by successful 135 seats, marking their most substantial success when it comes to each seats and vote share in Karnataka because the 1989 elections. The Bharatiya Janata Get together and the Janata Dal (Secular) acknowledged their defeat, securing the second and third positions, respectively.

The ruling Bharatiya Janata Get together (BJP), which beforehand held 118 seats within the Meeting, skilled a notable setback, securing solely 65 seats within the electoral consequence.

With inputs from PTI

Related Articles


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Latest Articles