5 Of 10 Cops Killed In Chhattisgarh Have been As soon as Maoists, Needed Higher Life

5 Of 10 Cops Killed In Chhattisgarh Were Once Maoists, Wanted Better Life

10 policemen and a driver have been killed in a Maoist assault in Chhattisgarh on Wednesday


Of the ten police personnel who misplaced their lives in a Maoist assault in Chhattisgarh’s Dantewada district, 5 had joined the power after quitting the Maoists, a senior official stated on Thursday.

Ten personnel belonging to the District Reserve Guard (DRG) and their civilian driver have been killed after Maoists blew up a automobile, which was a part of a convoy carrying safety personnel within the Aranpur police station space of Dantewada on Wednesday afternoon, utilizing a robust improvised explosive machine (IED). The blast website is positioned round 450km from state capital Raipur.

Of them, Head Constables Joga Sodi (35), Munna Kadti (40), Constables Hariram Mandavi (36) and Joga Kawasi (22), and Gopniya Sainik (secret troopers) Rajuram Kartam (25) have been as soon as lively as Maoists and joined the police after surrendering, Inspector Normal of Police (Bastar vary) Sundarraj P advised PTI.

Sodi, a resident of Arlampalli village in neighbouring Sukma district, and Kadti, a local of Muder village in Dantewada, joined the police in 2017. Equally, Mandavi and Kartam, residents of Dantewada, have been inducted into the police power in 2020 and 2022, respectively, he stated.

One other jawan Kawasi, a resident of Bade Gadam village in Dantewada, joined the DRG simply final month, added the IPS officer.

Dubbed as “sons of the soil”, DRG personnel are recruited from amongst native youth and surrendered Maoists within the Bastar division, a Maoist hotbed. The DRG, an arm of the state police, was raised over completely different intervals of time in seven districts of the Bastar division, unfold over an space of round 40,000 sq kms, to combat the menace of Left Wing Extremism (LWE) that has troubled the state for the previous three many years.

The unit was first arrange in Kanker (north Bastar) and Narayanpur (comprising Abhujmad) districts in 2008 and after a niche of 5 years, the power was raised in Bijapur and Bastar districts in 2013. Subsequently, it was expanded in Sukma and Kondagaon districts in 2014, whereas in Dantewada, the power was raised in 2015.

(Aside from the headline, this story has not been edited by NDTV workers and is revealed from a syndicated feed.)

Related Articles


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Latest Articles